Skip to main content

Glitch re: being asked to login when user hasn't even used a free credit yet

Not sure how this happened, but someone I sent my app to had an issue. I believe she clicked on button 2 (which is a link to an external page explaining the app) and then, when she returned to the main app page, she couldn’t use the free messages I’ve allowed there. Here’s what she wrote:

“I tried to use a free message – but when I clicked return it said I had to login with a username and password.  I don’t have an account. Don’t know what I am supposed to put there.”

This seems somewhat serious to me as it could turn someone off, leading them to click away from the app.

1 comment

Log in to comment and vote

Comments1

  • Aditya

    Team•

    Feb 20, 2025

    Hi Lisa,

    If your app has login enabled, they’d be asked to login even to use the free credits. They can sign up with their email through the login box. So, even if they visit an external link and return to the app, they’d still need to login to use the free chats.

    One thing you could do to make the process more intuitive is to enable login on page load. Go to your app settings → More → click on “Show Login on Page Load”. This will prompt the users to login/sign up even before they can send their first message.

    Let me know if this resolves the issue :)

    Thanks,
    Aditya